Here at GF Oats Australia, we are living life around food intolerances, just like you. So, we know that following a special dietary protocol can be tricky until you get your head around it. We are excited to let you know that our GF Oats are Vegan-Friendly according to the allergen statement from our supplier, GF Harvest in the USA.
We started to do some research around what it means to be Vegan and how we can support customers in this area. Just to make it clear, we personally are not able to follow this protocol. However, we are supportive and inclusive for those who do, our main customer is one that has food intolerances. GF Oats Australia is excited to be able to supply a product to the Vegan community that is Vegan-Friendly.
People choose to go on a vegan diet for a number of different reasons. Some choose the diet for health reasons whilst others choose it for personal preference. Whichever reason you have for choosing to become vegan is your choice. One that comes with a LOT of checking of labels to ensure that the foods you are choosing are vegan-friendly. So how do you tell if a product is vegan-friendly? How To Tell If A Product Is Vegan-Friendly. There are a number of ways that you can check and assure yourself of your choices before purchasing.
Vegan diets are becoming a lot more popular and as such many brands are starting to put referencing on their packaging to alert consumers that their products are ‚ÄúVegan-Friendly‚Äù. You can normally find this on the front of the packaging. If the product has received certification that it is Vegan then there is also a logo for this which is added to the product.
Check Ingredients List
There are a lot of foods that when you first look at them you would assume that they are Vegan-Friendly, however, this is not always the case. You need to thoroughly check the ingredients list to ensure that there are no animal by-products in the product. Milk, eggs and gelatin are ingredients that are added to a lot of products. These are not vegan-friendly and if they are present then sadly you need to move onto the next product.
Check Allergen Advice
In many cases, the product may not ACTUALLY contain an animal by-product. However, it may be manufactured in the same factory where products that do contain them are manufactured. If this is the case it will normally say in the allergen advice that ‚Äúthis product may contain‚Äù. If there is a risk of cross-contamination, this can be a reason to avoid the product. This is one that comes down to personal preference and whether you are comfortable eating a product that may contain trace elements or not.
For food items that are unpackaged such as fruits and vegetables, pay attention to where they are located in the grocery store. If your fruit is in the same case as the eggs then there is a chance of cross-contamination.
Ask for details
If you are eating out and are not able to check the ingredients list yourself, make sure you ask the staff. They should be able to tell you exactly what is in the food you are eating and whether there are any animal by-products in it. If you alert them that you are vegan they should accommodate making sure that your food is not cooked with any that is not Vegan.
The above can all be used for non-food products as well. Also checking whether the products state if it is tested on animals or not is also a good way to tell whether to use the product or not.
Choosing a Vegan diet and sticking to foods that are Vegan-Friendly is not hard. There may be a little bit of extra work whilst you are shopping whether it is in store or online, but once you start to know the products you can have, it will make life a lot easier. Making your own meals and snacks from scratch also helps with keeping on top of the products you are eating. Purchasing the ingredients separately means you can make your own bread, biscuits and bars.
One example is our Vegan-Friendly ANZAC Biscuits. ANZAC biscuits are a national icon and staple in Australia. If you have never tried an ANZAC biscuit and absolutely loved it ‚Äì WOW. Typically ANZAC biscuits are not Vegan-Friendly, however, we have changed this and have come up with a recipe for the ultimate biscuit for those following a Vegan diet.
Want to know more? Watch this space üòâ